Crochet vs. Knitting

Crochet-vs                                                             – Source    – Source

(Please excuse the crappy photo, but I was trying to get them together in a short period of time 😛 )

Since learning how to crochet and knit, I have joined a lot of social groups. All of them are great. There is a sense of camaraderie that we all have and we band together against the non-yarnbenders (so to speak). We offer encouragement, advice and even the hypothetical shoulder to cry on when we have had to frog a large portion of our projects or dropped a stitch 10 rows back. Overall it is great until — you mention knitting in a crochet group and crochet in a knitting group. You might as well have doused your underwear with gasoline and set it on fire! It can get BRUTAL! I have seen people online getting called all kinds of names in the book just because they have mentioned “the other craft”. Wooooooooooooooooo. (In my eerie voice) Honestly, I don’t see what the big deal is. They are both fiber arts and both produce some exquisite clothing and accessories, you would think that they would be alright.

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

I love them both. Crochet has its merits and so does knitting. Based on my own level of skill in each craft, there are certain things that I would only do with each craft. Does that make one superior over the other? No. All I am saying is that it is possible to make delicate items in crochet as well as knitting. I love them both equally. I get to make pretty things with yarn! I can make my own clothes and I can use crochet or knitting to accomplish what I need! Some people say that knitting is more refined and that it is superior because of that fact. Well, try crocheting a wedding dress using crochet thread and we will see who stacks up. Heh, heh. There was this post that I saw while perusing through my dashboard where a woman was crocheting with sewing thread. SEWING THREAD! That is pretty hardcore right there.

So why the war? I really don’t know nor understand. I guess it is like sports in a way. You can only be loyal to one team per sport. Don’t get me wrong, there are TONS of people who are like me and do both and are just as content but we are the minority. Hey, I still get to make pretty things whether wielding a hook or needle. Spread the love, spread the happiness…that is all that I am saying.

I love to crochet and I love to knit. That is all. Well, not really, I love to sew/quilt and cross stitch as well. 😀 It’s all handmade and we all should be proud of that, no matter what you do.

What do you think?

God Bless!

 

The post “Crochet vs. Knitting” appeared first on Tia’s Space. Click through to interact, leave a comment and continue with the conversation.

2 thoughts on “Crochet vs. Knitting

  1. I completely agree with you Tia. Think both are wonderful yarn crafts. I am better crocheter than knitter but that just makes me wishing to learn knitting better. I love them both the same way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

