Recipe Time! – Corn Meal Porridge

One of my fondest memories growing up is when my dad would make corn meal porridge for breakfast. Thin enough to drink in a mug or thick and chunky, I loved it any way I could get it. I could eat it any time of the day too. That’s how much I love it. Ihave been making it for my kids lately and my daughter has taken a great liking to it. It reminds me of the good ol’ days. It is pretty easy to make. It is about a 4:1 ratio of milk or water and dry corn meal. Here is how I make mine.

20131112-143759.jpg

What you need:

4 c. water or milk
1c. Yellow or white corn meal
2 bay leaves
2 tbsp. butter
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. ground cinnamon or 1/2 cinnamon stick
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt
Sugar
Metal whisk

Directions:

Combine water/milk, salt, bay leaves, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and butter into a sauce pan and bring to a boil. Have the whisk close by. When the water is boiling, start whisking with one hand and pour in the corn meal with the other slowly. This will eliminate the lumps that can occur (I actually like eating the lumps).

When all the corn meal is added, turn down the heat to med-low, cover and let it cook for about 5 – 10 min stirring frequently. (I usually keep stirring with the whisk). Be careful because it can be like molten lava as it “bubbles” and can burn.

When it is fully cooked, remove from the heat and let it stand for a few minutes before serving. Add sugar to taste. Serve with a hot mug of Ovaltine.

Some Tips:

When you’re done making the corn meal, make sure you rinse or soak everything because once corn meal dries, it is like cement and can be troublesome to remove from cookware.

It can be very hot while cooking so use long utensils.

I hope this simple meal becomes a new Fall/Winter favorite.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

