Recipe Time! – Lunch Pita

While I was grocery shopping, I stopped in the bread aisle to get a loaf of bread and came across one of  those mini shelves that contain the tortillas and buns and such. I saw some pitas and thought to myself that I haven’t had a pita in a long while. So I picked up a pack of 8-grain pitas and continued shopping. The next day I decided to make myself a nice light lunch and I busted out the pitas and some other stuff to make it with. I will say this, if you are not a fan of tuna, you can use chicken, turkey or ham to fill it with. Just season accordingly. This should serve 2.

What you need:

  • 8 oz. can of albacore tuna (gotta save the dolphins PLUS it is healthier than regular tuna)
  • 1 cup of ready made salad (slightly packed – you can use what ever you have just make sure they are bite sized pieces)
  • 2 tblsp. mayo
  • 1 tsp. spicy mustard (I used Grey Poupon)
  • Dash of salt – to taste
  • Dash of cayenne pepper – to taste
  • 2 pitas

Directions:

Drain the tuna and add it to a bowl. Use a fork to break it up a bit. Add the rest of the ingredients (except the salt and cayenne pepper) and stir. Season to taste with salt and cayenne pepper. Stuff pita to liking.

I toasted my pita on the lowest setting before filling it and it made it taste so much better. It tasted so good that I made another pita with the rest of the tuna! My belly was full but it wasn’t heavy…I really shouldn’t have ate so much but I couldn’t help myself! I don’t know how long it will keep fresh in the fridge. The longest it sat was for 24 hours…from one lunch to the next.

My Lunch Pita

My Lunch Pita

Well I hope this quick and easy recipe will become a family favorite. You can make a whole batch and take it for a picnic or pack a small container to make a healthy lunch at work.

God Bless!

The post “Recipe Time! – Lunch Pita” appeared first on Tia’s Space. Click through to interact, leave a comment and continue with the conversation.

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe Time! – Lunch Pita

Leave a Reply

