Git ‘Er Dun! – Crochet

It has been pretty slow for me on the crochet front but I have also been testing other patterns as well. I’ve been also battling a cough that I just can’t seem to get rid of and it has been taxing as well. My son gave it to me (he loves to give hugs and kisses) and either my son or I gave it to my daughter. So the last week or so has been taking care of runny noses as well. Not fun at all. But I do have a few pictures of what I have been doing and what I will have planned for the future weeks.

I tested a pair of fingerless gloves for Mamachee. They are called LayerLove Fingerless Gloves. They were pretty easy to work up. Didn’t have the yarn called for (I really wish I could get some) but used the same weight in yarn. As you will see, there are two different layers and I took the advantage to test both just to see how it would turn out.

Mamchee’s LayerLove Fingerless Gloves – Hooked by Shantier’s Handmade Designs

On the left, is the Fishnet Mesh and on the Granny Stitch. It took me about 3 hours to do only because the thumbs have no leeway when it came to finishing. Here is the pic of the other side.

Mamchee's LayerLove Fingerless Gloves - Hooked by Shantier's Handmade Designs - Back

Mamchee’s LayerLove Fingerless Gloves – Hooked by Shantier’s Handmade Designs – Back

What I like about them is that you cannot really see where the rows stop and start and that makes them virtually seamless. I learned a new stitch as well. It’s called a deep stitch and I had to look it up in order to do them. Not hard really once the I caught on tho what was going on. This was really a fun pattern to do and will enjoy making them again in the future.

I have been working on this shawl for the last two weeks and have really gotten no where. I found out last night that I was using a smaller hook than what I started with (that is what happens when I have more than one hook in the bed πŸ˜€ ) and had to frog about 10 rows. Since I haven’t gotten too far, it wasn’t a big deal. I am using Caron Simply Soft in Ocean. So far this yarn has kept me very warm in church and love working with it. Since it is such a simple shawl, I might play around with the stitches to give it some texture. The original calls for scrap yarn and what was shown was in multiple colors. Since I don’t have that many different colors with the same type pf care instructions, I’m sticking with a solid color. Plus, blue is my favorite color!

Easy Scrap Yarn Shawl by Erica Jackofsky

Easy Scrap Yarn Shawl by Erica Jackofsky

Here is where I left off….after the fogging.

Easy Scrap Yarn Shawl

Easy Scrap Yarn Shawl

This is a great shawl for beginners and can be any length you choose. I need to buy 2 or 3 more skeins to make it the length that I need it. I love a shawl that drapes just right and long enough to spill over my arms.

I have about 2 more shawls that I am thinking about doing. They are the Shoal

Shoal - Berroco Yarns

Shoal – Berroco Yarns

and Leaflines Shawlette.

Leaflines Shawlette

Leaflines Shawlette – Aparne Rolfe Designs

These are more time consuming but I should be able to have these done by the middle of October or so. I will start will the shawlette first since it is the shortest and will be able to wear it during the start of the fall. Don’t know what color I will use as yet but I am keeping a look out. For the Shoal, I will use the colors given…like I said, I love blue!

I am tired and hungry and need to eat before we go to church tonight. Making that stir fry again for dinner again tonight. It was that good! Plus we have plenty of rice to eat before it goes bad. If you haven’t gotten the recipe, you can click here to view it. It was really easy and tastes AWESOME! Bout to grab me a large bowl and start maowing down!

Happy hookin’ and God Bless!

 

The post β€œGit ‘Er Dun! – Crochet” appeared first on Tia’s Space. Click through to interact, leave a comment and continue with the conversation.

Leave a Reply

