Recipe Time! – Apple Cinnamon Waffles

Making french toast for breakfast this morning made me think that I haven’t really posted anything for breakfast as yet…well could be a really, really, really long time since. Either way, I found a breakfast recipe (from scratch of course!) that will be a great addition to your breakfast routine.

Why always from scratch? Everyone has their own dietary needs and preferences. With the amount of processed, modified and engineered foods out there, some are worried about what they give their families to eat. Recipes made from scratch give you more control over what you add in and substitute, though I will say that the results will vary somewhat when substituting ingredients. Keep that in mind.

What you need

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs – separated
  • 1 and 1/4 cups milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 apple – finely sliced
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Directions:

Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In a small bowl, beat egg whites until stiff; set aside.

In a medium bowl, beat egg yolks well. Stir in milk.

Add sifted dry ingredients to egg yolks and mix until moistened (be careful not to over mix).

Add vegetable oil. Fold in egg whites.

Pour cinnamon in mixture. Stir.

Add apples. Blend lightly into mixture.

Bake in preheated waffle maker for at least 4 to 5 minutes, until crisp and brown.

(s/n) You can make your favorite syrup or compote to add on top of the waffles!

 

I hope that this recipe will become a great addition to your family recipe box.

God Bless!

 

The post “Recipe Time! – Apple Cinnamon Waffles” appeared first on Tia’s Space. Click through to interact, leave a comment and continue with the conversation.

3 thoughts on “Recipe Time! – Apple Cinnamon Waffles

  1. Every week I can hardly wait wait for Tuesday and your recipe post! 😀 It is easy if you start the week from Monday, but mine starts Wednesday, day after your post! 😀
    You leave me with seven long days expecting hat will be the next to serve! 😀
    Love waffles and this combination cinnamon/apples is awesome. My sister will enjoy this recipe for her girls!
    Will have to write down few of local recipes to send you to try them out. Food here is quite different from what I remember eating in the States. 🙂
    Uf….now have to go and wait for another Tuesday …..
    Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!

    Like

    • I’m so glad that you have enjoyed the recipes! I would love to try out some local recipes as well. I am all about trying new foods! You can send them through my ‘Contact Me’ page and I can swap some home recipes too with you as well….that is if my aunt can get it out of my grandmother! Lol! Last time I asked for some recipes, Granny told me that I need to go home to Antigua to get them! Granny is a trip! 😀

      I will try to think of something good for next week so you can start your week RIGHT!

      Like

Leave a Reply

