Completion and Work in Progress

Today I have two things to share and that is the completion of my shawl and the beginnings of a new one.

For the finished piece, the All Shawl by Doris Chan.

Here it is before blocking:

Before blocking

Before blocking

Here it is after the block. I didn’t realize that one of the picot points were tucked under until after the fact. ๐Ÿ˜€

Looks much better!

Looks much better!

This was the first time that I blocked anything and I think that it came out great. I used the screen from the window of my children’s room (had to take it out so that the a/c unit could go in their window) and used and old sheet to cover it and pinned it to the sheet. If I had the space…I would have blocked it a little larger but I’m working with what I got! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m working on a new shawl for this Sunday as well. This one is a free pattern from Lion Brand Yarn. It’s called Daylight Tweedy Shawl. It is painfully easy and a great shawl for a beginner. I am about 1/3 of the way done. I’m using Caron Simply Soft in Bone for this one and I am going to add a trim on the shorter sides. Though I don’t know how I am going to block this one. maybe old it in half and do it that way. But here is what I have so far:

Daylight Tweedy Shawl

Daylight Tweedy Shawl

If I keep up with making a shawl a week (I do have other projects that I am working on!) I will have a respectable amount of shawls by the start of Fall and will have enough by the start of Winter to go with anything that I am wearing. Saves me a LOT of moe-nay!

Oh! Before I forget, I have been working on making some hot pads for the house and some for sale and I have made two so far. They are so easy to make and I love the pattern…easy to remember as well! Here they are:

Starburst Hotpads

Starburst Hotpads

I think I saw this on Tumblr, I am not too sure but the one on the left I made from the left over Bernat cotton yarn from my older boys beanies. The one on the right was made with Peaches and Creme cotton yarn (the only place I can get it is at Walmart since it has been discontinued). The one on the left doesn’t hold its shape well and I will use this one at home but the one on the right looks more like the picture and holds its shape better. All it consists of are 5 simple motifs! I think this will make a great addition to people’s kitchens and the color possibilities are limited to your imagination!

Well that is all for now. It is getting warmer here in the house and I am going to park myself near the fan in the living room and crochet.

What have you been working on? Would love to hear from you.

God Bless!

The post โ€œCompletion and Work in Progressโ€ appeared first on Tiaโ€™s Space. Click through to interact, leave a comment and continue with the conversation.

2 thoughts on “Completion and Work in Progress

  1. Hello Dear,
    The shawl came out wonderful! Really like it very much. The second one you have started is looking great. It might be easy as you say, but one needs patience and time to make the easiest and smallest things as well. And you really amazes me with your organization of time and wonderful things you manage to squeeze and create in one ordinary day(or during a week). Love the flowery hotpads as well. Like your color combinations. ๐Ÿ™‚ Think I saw and pinned the pattern on Pinterests as something I would like to try and make some day soon. Great work as always my dear. Congratulations.

    Like

    • Thanks Vanja! The hotpads are too easy! I think it took me about 45 min to an hour to make one. I am only guessing since I had to start and stop a lot. Someone who crochets fast can whip a few of these up fairly quicker than I can.

      As for organization….ha! There is none. I just learned not to have too many wips at once. Heh heh!

      Like

Leave a Reply

