This Weeks WiP Award Goes To….!

Mawning!

I have 2 WiPs to share with you today. One is the doily and the other is a shawl. I’ve made quite a bit of progress with the doily but had to take some time off since my poor finger needed some time to heal. I have never worked with such a small hook for an extended period of time, but I did finish the main part of it and also finished a petal and leaf just to see how difficult it would be. Fairly easy! Here it is:

About 90% complete

About 90% complete

I should be done by the end of the week or at least at the beginning of next and then it will be blocked, sprayed and ready for framing.

My other project is a labor of love. The first time that I tackled this project I made one for my daughter. It was my first project and it came out well. I didn’t block it (even though I should have) but it was large enough as it was when it was finished. I made the short version for her using RH yarn. She absolutely adores it! I had to hide it from her because she was wearing it around the house and tried to wear it to bed a few times!

I went to a new church this past Sunday. I want to say that it is awesome! The warmth of the members, the knowledge of the pastor…it was a wonderful experience! But, man was it cold inside!! So I decided to make a shawl for myself and I bought two skeins of Caron Simply Soft in Charcoal Heather. I wanted a color that would look good with what I would be wearing at church. After looking through my ever growing list of patterns, I decided on the All Shawl by Doris Chan. One thing that I love about her patterns that they are fairly easy to do. Simple stitches put together to make something beautiful. I have done one other pattern of hers for a CAL and I have several lined up for me to do. I even checked out her book at the library just to go through the patterns and familiarize myself the the techniques inside. One day when I get the funds to, I will buy what I need to create the beautiful pieces she has inside.

This time, I had a little trouble and there was a lot of frogging to be had. I had to undo 10 rows and this is what it looked like two nights ago.

What a MESS!

What a MESS!

I was so upset! Normally I would have kept on going but the strawberry lace edging that is used is a pattern repeat and I would have been off by two stitches. The worst part is that one of the missed stitches was near the beginning of the shawl and there went 10 rows! I managed to make a lot of headway last night and I ended up at row 17 last night. I had to frog again because I skipped a stitch but it wasn’t as bad as the night before. Here is what it looks like now before my daughter got her hands on it and unraveled a portion of the last row. (Heh heh heh!)

Almost finished! YAY!

Almost finished! YAY!

Tonight it should be done…maybe even before I go to church tonight. I only have 6 1/2 more rows to do before I start the edging. Then it will be blocked and set on the screen to dry. I am thinking of using some jasmine oil to scent the shawl. I love the scent of jasmine. Nice and warm but light at the same time….if you know what I mean. The good news is that I will be able to wear it on Sunday!!! πŸ˜€

Well I am off to finish a mini catalog for a customer and send that off and then I am going to do something with my hair before church tonight. It needs a relaxer but I don’t feel like messing with that in all this heat. It is noticeably cooler than yesterday but doing anything more than sitting still will have me sweating!

Have a great hump day y’all and as always God Bless!

 

The post β€œThis Weeks WiP Award Goes To….!” appeared first on Tia’s Space. Click through to interact, leave a comment and continue with the conversation.

One thought on “This Weeks WiP Award Goes To….!

  1. My vampire friend this is looking good! Doily is amazing and will look great when framed. Regarding the shawl, must say that had few laughs. I know how it feels when stitch or two are missed…and was glad to see it is not just me to whom it happens (sometimes, occasionally ….often…) πŸ˜€
    Jasmine scented shawl is great idea!
    Keep up with this amazing work dear. Looking forward to hear and see more of it!
    Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

