Finding Independence in Dependence

Yesterday we celebrated the Independence Day here in the States. It was a time that we got together with our family and friends, BBQ’d ’til we busted our guts and enjoyed watching the fireworks go off. But do we know why we celebrate the 4th? Back in the day when America was only 13 colonies strong, we sought a separation from Great Britain and on July 2nd, after all arguments were heard, the Declaration of Independence was finalized. On the 4th, is when the document was signed. I found something interesting in regards as to how we should remember this monumental event.

This excerpt is taken from John Adams’ letter to his wife, Abigail:

The Second Day of July 1776, will be the most memorable Epochs, in the History of America.I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated, by succeeding Generations, as the great anniversary Festival. It ought to be commemorated, as the Day of Deliverance by solemn Acts of Devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with Pomp and Parade, with Shews, Games, Sports, Guns, Bells, Bonfires and Illuminations from one End of this Continent to the other from this Time forward forever more.

– John Adams. July 3, 1776.

Who knew that we would still be celebrating in this fashion? I sure didn’t until today. On the other side of the token, how far have we come from our independence? How has society reshaped our lives to still make us think that we are free? We are being monitored around every corner by various cameras outside and in, our phone calls are being recorded and our internet use is being watched and scrutinized. There is so much more that is going on but because we are blinded my getting “paper”, having the latest fashion, having the fastest computers and smart phone that we don’t realize that how quickly the world is changing…and not for the better.

There is a way that we can regain our independence, regain our purpose in life, regain our love for ourselves and for our fellow man. That is by depending on God. When we give our lives to God, we are telling Him that we recognize that He is the creator of all things including ourselves. We are telling Him that we recognize that we cannot do this alone no matter how hard we work. Even if you are able to get everything you wanted, you’re still not content. There is a void that is there inside you that is aching but no amount of possessions can take it away. But that void can be filled if we let go and let God take over. He is the only one that can truly set us free.

I know you have come across people in your life that are always happy no matter what comes their way, someone like Ned Flanders from the Simpsons, and you may find it strange. But this is a great example of how happy we can be when we give our lives to Christ. That happiness, despite all odds, is true freedom. That kind of happiness and love can only come from one source and that is God, our Father. You may disagree with what I am saying but I will say this, don’t knock it until you’ve tried it. People argue all the time and say that God isn’t real but I know that I can go to and see where Solomon’s Temple was built, I can go to Jerusalem and see where the Ark of the Covenant was housed, I can visit the places that Jesus Christ preached to during His 3 years of ministry, and much, much more.

Some people say that the Bible is nothing but a book of stories and lessons. They are right but it is more than that. There are prophecies of Alexander the Great and how he came into power and with a swiftness no one could for see, conquered many lands…only later to by divided between 4 leaders. This was prophesied for the time it was given and over 500 years down the road! This same Bible that records names, dates and places can be found in other documentation around the world. Whether it was a shipping document, ledgers or letters, there is proof these people of the Bible existed.

I am not a Bible scholar nor have I been to a formal Christian institution but I do know what I feel in my heart, especially when God speaks. I do know that when I pray, they are answered. I know what it feels like to be of the world and I know what it feels like to have a relationship with Christ. I have independence because of my dependence on God. He is the author of my life, why not let Him have the reins as well?

If you have any comments or questions, please feel free…I’d love to hear from you. If there is something more personal that you do not want anyone else to see, you can contact me. I promise that I will answer your questions the best way possible.

With that, I bid you all a great day today and rest of the weekend.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

