Crochet, Of Course!

A new month means a new CAL (Crochet ALong) at the Google+ group Crochet Along on Google+. If you love to crochet (or want to learn) and want to meet new people who do, then you are more than welcome to join! (You will need a Google email account in order to participate in the Google+ communities.) This month we are making the Masa Bag by the Nerdy Knitter.ย  What is unique about this bag is the way that it is put together. It is inspired by the Japanese art of folding called furoshiki and bukuro. Right now it is this skinny piece that I am still wondering how I will make it into a bag that I will use. We shall see about that one. For mine, I am using the colors of my flag of Antigua and Barbuda. For those of you who don’t know, my country is pronounced An-tee-guh.

Flag of Antigua and Barbuda

Flag of Antigua and Barbuda

I have dubbed the bag, Masa Bag “Antigua”. Based on the amount of color used in the flag itself, I made my stripes in the same fashion. There is more red than anything else so that will be the biggest color band.

Masa Bag "Antigua"

Masa Bag “Antigua”

I still have the blue to finish and then the yellow and black. Once that is done, I am going to attempt to assemble the bag. When that is finished, I will make the strap and attach. By the end of the week, I should have a new bag to sport when I go shopping/running errands! I think I will make a hat to match. Hmmmm…. What is so cool about this bag is that you can create a very unique design by folding paper cut to the desired ratio, in this case 1:3, and coloring in a design. When I am done, I could use it as a template to crochet. Sales idea? Ding, ding, ding!

Over the weekend, I made a purse for my daughter. It is nothing special but it will keep her from going into mine all the time. I am going to make a small wallet for her as well and give her old bank cards and old business cards to play with. That should keep her busy. My son saw me making a purse for his sister and wanted one too. I told him purses were not for boys so I am going to make him a messenger bag.

My daughter's purse

My daughter’s purse

I have some commissioned pieces that I am waiting to start once the yarn comes in. The hats that I made my dad were a big hit with my sons and now they want me to make them one of their own. I haven’t made much leeway with my blanket that I am making but I did double and triple checked what I have already and write up the pattern. I have been working on putting a catalog together for the Fall/Winter time and post it to my Facebook page for viewing. I did this mainly because a lot of people do not know what crochet is capable of and think that it is mainly hats, scarves, shawls, throws, afghans and blankets. Crochet is much more than that. I want to display the various apparel and accessories that could be made….make them think outside the box. I am giving myself two weeks to get it done. I just finished organizing all the PDF files in my crochet folder and and my OneNote crochet notebook is also organized as well. Now just to pick out the patterns that I want and arrange them. Going to be a lot of work but it will be worth it in the end.

Whelp, I am off to crochet some more. I should be done with the bag by tonight. It works up pretty quickly. I may make some more before the month is out just to coordinate with my wardrobe.

Y’all have an awesome hump day and rest of the week!

God Bless!

4 thoughts on “Crochet, Of Course!

  1. Please accept this nomination as a token for the sweet moments you have created for me on WordPress….. justmikemon.wordpress.com/2013/07/03/hii-share-my-fourth-best-moment-award-with-me/…Congratulations ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Hi Shantier ๐Ÿ™‚ I love how you decided on the colours for your purse! – It will mean so much more than just being a purse! I’m going to try this CAL too – I love purses/bags…I have so many though – thankfully this one isn’t ‘pricey’! Happy ‘hump’ day ๐Ÿ™‚ Rhondda

    Like

Leave a Reply

