Recipe Time! – Cobbler

Yesterday, I got a comment from one of my readers about posting diet recipes. I had to laugh because along with today’s recipe, I was going to post about moderation. So here goes!

We are all in control of what we put into our bodies, unless of course you are on a specific diet and being monitored. The recipes that I post are not always healthy and they do not come with serving suggestion either but they taste good. This is the reason why I have them in my recipe book and why I share them with you. I am not a fan of diet food (personally) but I am a fan of eating in moderation. One thing that people do not realize is that there is never a need to be on a diet. If you eat in moderation, you can eat anything BUT you need to be smart about it. Plain and simple. If you feel that a recipe is too sweet or decadent but you still want some, eat a tiny portion and have the will power not to eat more than that. If you know your will is weak, don’t make it at all. Like I said, you are in control of what you eat.

With that said, here is a very easy recipe for a peach cobbler. You can substitute the fruit to anything you want. I have made it with peach, cherry and apple before and they all taste good! So pick a favorite pie fruit (fruits you would bake in a pie) and make this cobbler!

What you need:

  • 4 cups peeled, sliced peaches
  • 2 cups sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 8 tablespoons butter
  • 1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • Ground cinnamon, optional
  • 3 Qt. Baking dish
Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine the peaches, 1 cup sugar, and water in a saucepan and mix well. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from the heat.

Put the butter in a 3-quart baking dish and place in oven to melt.

Mix remaining 1 cup sugar, flour, and milk slowly to prevent clumping. Pour mixture over melted butter. Do not stir. Spoon fruit on top, gently pouring in syrup. Sprinkle top with ground cinnamon, if using. Batter will rise to top during baking. Bake for 30 to 45 minutes.

To serve, scoop onto a plate and serve with your choice of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as my family does!
God Bless!
6 thoughts on “Recipe Time! – Cobbler

  1. Ayayayyy….this one is diet friendly 😀
    I am not on diet and always take food in moderation, specially deserts. never take more than one pice at the time (but take them more than once) 😉
    Like this one!!! So light and refreshing for summer. Great one! And with peaches yuuuum! Thank you so much for sharing it with us. Specially me who love to read and try your recipes out.
    xoxo

    Like

    • Lol! I’m glad that you enjoy trying them out. It was really funny though when you commented yesterday about having diet friendly recipes… because that was what I had planned to talk about on Sunday prepping for this weeks posts. It came right on time! 😀

      Like

  2. You hit the nail right on the head with this post Tia! I’m all for eating healthy but I don’t think others have the right to infringe their eating habits or dietary styles on anybody! Out here in Honolulu, there are tons of vegans/vegetarians, and I get alot of flack for eating meat/pork/poultry etc. Yes I eat meat! Sorry about the killing of animals but…God gave humankind dominion over the animals, not the other way around! And I feel that we as Humankind should be just a little more concerned over our fellow humankind, not merely the animals. Let’s all take care of our brothers and sisters first, then we can all, in turn, take care of the animals! And about personal food choices…the key words are PERSONAL CHOICE! We are each responsible for what we put into our own mouths, be it sugar/salt/meat/one’s own foot (lol)! I got your back on this one! God bless you & thanks for the recipe!

    Like

    • One’s own foot…hahaha! Too funny! I hate the “blame” game. Personally, I think that some people are just too lazy to do what is right when it comes to dietary needs. I share these recipes because I know they taste good and we deserve a treat every once in a while. I make this recipe about 3 times a year or less and it lasts maybe two days. My husband could eat half by himself but then again, he has a high metabolism. People need to know their limitations when it comes to food.

      Like

Leave a Reply

