The Crochet Beanie

Being new to crochet, I wanted to get some practice in and what is better than making something for your family. So, that is what I did. I started in February making scarves for my kids and a hat for myself (with no pattern, just off the cuff). This month I did my first large project and it came out great! Though it didn’t look like the photos, it was a great achievement. Because of that particular shawl, I now have orders to make my mother and my cousin something! So in the middle of hunting for great yarn, I decided to honor my husband’s request and make him a beanie.

Hubby’s beanie – Beginnings

Here is the finished project:

Front

Front

SideI got the pattern from a video tutorial from Crochet Geek. It was easy to do. I even embellished it a little by adding in double crochet stitches. Hubby actually loves it (even though it is a practice one until I get the colors I want) and wears it all the time. It’s the exact same color as his car and wears it every time he drives it. I made one for my daughter as well since she kept stealing mine.

My Daughter’s Beanie – Front

I still had to sew in the tail by this point but I wanted to see how it fit. Here is the side view.

Side View

Side View

Needless to say, she loves it…especially when taking naps. She’s a bit weird! Heh heh! Anyway, looking for free patterns has made me a bit overwhelmed. There is so much things that I want to try out and do but I have to keep focused. Once I find the yarn for my mom and my cousin, then and only then can I jump into something else.

Let me know what you think!

God Bless!

2 thoughts on “The Crochet Beanie

    • I definitely know what you mean. I was on the Red Heart website today and was downloading a TON of patterns. Sad thing is, I can’t start one until Friday!!! Beanies are always great and very versatile. Change the yarn or the stitch alone and voilà…you have a new beanie!

      Like

Leave a Reply

