Recipe Time! – Apple Pie Porkchops

This is the best recipe that I have ever had the privilege to eat and my husband made these on the fly. There may be a recipe out there but I have never checked nor do I want to. When I say these taste like apple pie, they do! The pork was moist, succulent and mouth watering. Man, I am drooling just thinking about them right now. Since this is a play-by-ear recipe, I will give you the ingredients and general directions. I picked my husbands brain for the exact amounts and he couldn’t tell me. So if it doesn’t taste like apple pie the first time, then tweak it until it does. That’s what happens when you cook by feel, I guess.

What you need:

  • 1/2″ thick pork chops (or at least 1/4″ thick)
  • 1/4 cup apple juice
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Brown sugar
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Fork
  • Baking dish large enough to fit the chops

Preheat the oven to 375° (should take about 5 – 10 min, depending on how old your oven is)

Rinse pork chops under water and pat dry. Place in baking dish. Using the fork, pierce the meat all over, flip, and do the same again. Sprinkle each side with salt and pepper. Now eyeballing, cover each side with cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar. The best way to know if it will taste like pie is if it smells like it. Take a whiff and if it is missing something, add it. Pour the apple juice in the baking dish and bake uncovered for 30 min. Poof, voila, the pork is done!

Wild rice, cranberry sauce (with the cranberries included), stuffing, and steamed string beans will go well with these chops. Happy eating!

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

