Love

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.
And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.
And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.
Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,
Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil;
Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;
Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.
Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away.
For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.
But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.
When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.
For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.
And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.
1 Corinthians 13 KJV

I thought to myself the other day, all the problems of the world could be solved if we knew the true meaning of love. People might say that I know what love means and that isn’t what is going to fix it. But if you understood what love means, then you can understand as to why it will be the catalyst of change for the world as we know it.

Many of you read the verses and wondered why it says charity instead of love. In reality, they are one in the same. This chapter, or a portion of it, has been used as wedding vows for generations. Though there are very few that actually know what it means. It is not what is portrayed in the movies and definitely in the music that we listen to, it comes from God.

True love, in its purest form, is a selfless act. To know this love is to know God and the only way that know that love is to have a personal relationship with him. Being a Christian doesn’t mean hating other people or other religions. It means having one-on-one time with God and knowing what His plan in life is for you. Once you know what true love is, that agape love, then you can truly love others AND yourself. The passage above gives you all the criteria needed to truly love; all you  need is to apply it to your daily life. Easy, right? No. Impossible? No. Because we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us. (Philippians 4:13). But with His help, we can sure come close to it.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

Philippians 4:13 KJV

When this love is applied to marriage, that is where the game changes. Because of this selfless love, we are able to completely love our spouse, therefore giving our other half everything they need to be satisfied. We give and give and give freely, not wanting anything in return. We are still blessed because our spouse, in that same selfless love will be giving to us and the blessings are multiplied exponentially. This doesn’t mean that focus is lost for everything else in life but it is the driving force for everything that you do.

Most important of all, continue to show deep love for each other, for love covers a multitude of sins.

1 Peter 4:8 NLT

That deep love Peter was talking about is that agape love, that true love. It is that same love that Jesus had for us when He died on the cross. It is that same love that allowed His sacrifice to wash away sins. This is the same love that allows us to be grafted into the vine. They say when you are in love you are able to look past the faults of another and focus on the things that you love about that person. It is the same thing when it comes to sin. When we come to God and say ‘Lord, I cannot do this anymore. I need You in my life to guide me and set my life in order. I give it all to You’, you are telling him that you give Him that access to show you His love and the blessings that come with it.

There is so much more to this subject and I could write forever. If you have your personal thoughts on what love means to you, I would love to hear it.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

