Recipe Time! – Fried Country Rib Chunks

My husband is from North Carolina and country ribs is something that he would eat quite often when he was growing up. Being his wife, I had to learn how to cook them. No problem! He showed me once and that was it. It’s always a big hit in the house. We moved to Charlotte in December (closer to his side of the family) and loved the change from Tennessee. Well the kids were at their great aunts house spending time with their cousins and hubby and I were spending some well deserved QT. As usual I asked what he wanted for dinner and he said, as usual, “I don’t know”. There were some country ribs in the fridge and so I thought about cooking that for dinner. I didn’t want to cook it in the usual way (homemade/store bought bbq sauce and stick it in the oven) so I thought that if I cut them up into big chunks and fry them. I tend not to fry too often since I have always had issues with  my gall bladder but it has been several months and a treat was in order. I told my husband what I was going to do and he promptly told me that he has never heard about anyone ever doing that. I’m thinking to myself, ‘this is the south — they fry ANYTHING!’. So I said ok, and proceeded to cook.

Now before I continue, I would like to inform you that this is a very fatty piece of meat. If you have never used this cut of pork before and are worried about the extra fat content, you can trim the fat. I also recommend for those that are on special diets (like I am) to only eat 1 – 3 pieces (about 1/4 cup) a good mixture of veggies. I only have fried/high fat content foods about once every 2 – 3 months as a treat and I normally cook the meal so that I can control the amount of fat used. This recipe can be adapted to suit your spice preferences.

This recipe is great for dinner or finger food for a party. The boneless ribs (depending on how they cut them) come six to a pack. This can feed a family of 6. To make it easier, season the meat the night before and store in the fridge. When getting ready to cook, let sit for about an hour to come to room temp.

What you will need:

  • A pack of boneless country ribs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tblsp. water
  • 4 tblsp. seasoned salt, separate in half
  • 2 tblsp. black pepper, separate in half
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 2 tblsp. parsley flakes
  • Canola oil (or Crisco, if you’d like)
  • large baking dish
  • large bowl
  • drying rack

(This is the part that can be done overnight) Cut the pork in bite-sized chunks and place in a gallon sized baggie. Add half the seasoned salt, half the black pepper and the cayenne pepper and distribute well. Adding a tsp. of oil can help with this process.  Place in the fridge. If you aren’t making this overnight, you can let it sit for at least an hour but no longer than 3 hours.

In the large baking dish, place the rest of the dry ingredients and mix well. It should be a uniform color. In the bowl, add the eggs and water and whisk together. Have the drying rack (or a foil lined plate) ready.

Take the chucks (a few at a time) and lightly coat in the flour. Dust off the extra flour and place in egg mixture. Then place once more in flour and completely coat the piece. Shake off excess flour and place on drying rack. Repeat until all pieces are done. You can also “double-dip” by placing back in the egg and flour. To do this, you will need at least 2 extra eggs and 2 tblsp. water. While the chunks are on the drying rack (20 min. tops!), put enough oil in the pan to make it 1/4″ deep and heat to about 325 – 350. (You don’t want it to be to hot or the crust will burn before the inside has had a chance to cook)

Place the chunks in the pan but do not overcrowd. Cook until golden brown and turn, about 3 – 5 min per side. Place on a plate lined with paper towel. At this point, taste a piece to gauge the saltiness and if need be, add salt as soon as it is out of the oil. If too salty (I apologize) reduce the amount of salt when cooking again.

This meal will go great with baked potato wedges, mac and cheese and cole slaw. I hope you enjoy this as much as my family does. I’m actually making them tonight for dinner.

Enjoy! God bless!

Leave a Reply

